With two more entries, Songvakpennin getting underway and Melfest confirming it’s “no, it’s definitely not called Andra Chansen” lineup there was plenty going on on Saturday night. Given most of the bookies’ favourites did the business we didn’t really get many surprises. And yet, it still felt a tad disappointing.

The biggest name of the day was probably The Rasmus, and it seems their popularity has seen them through to Eurovision. UMK continued it’s progression with a varied lineup chocked full of up-and-coming talent. In spite of that, it is the established act that won the jury vote and convincingly smashed the televote. Whilst Jezebel is nowhere near the dated levels of Intention from Bulgaria it still feels very ‘off a time’. This was especially stark when compared to Cyan Kicks who finished in the runner-up position. On the night my own favourite was Younghearted, them finishing last in the televote with Sun numero was most unjust.

The day was bookended with pre-show favourites winning through as Sheldon Riley secured Australia’s ticket to Turin. My own favourite of Voyager came close, as did Jaguar Jonze who had possibly my favourite performance of the whole national final season. After singing the praises of Aus Decides on Friday there were a few elements of Saturday’s show that were a tad sub-optimal…

  • Geoblocking the broadcast when they said they wouldn’t.
  • Odd televote score weighting
  • Confusion casued by a timezone issue and when vote would close.
  • Confusion casued by how that green room host got the job
  • Confusion caused by the fact Bobbysocks were referred to as a “girl group”

As previously mentioned the final heat of Melfest means we now have the full Andra Chansen list. From Saturday, Lillasyster & Anna Bergendahl were the final acts to complete the last chance line-up. As a self-confessed fan of the latter I’m disappointed but not surprised, Higher Power being the weakest of her three recent entries. Klara Hammarström took a deserved victory on the night joining Cornelia Jakobs, LIAMOO & Anders Bagge as heat winners. Of these four, the televote winner may seem obvious but who knows when it comes to the juries. The hope for a Swedish surprise is still there.

In Iceland Haffi Haff didn’t autocmiatcally make it to the final. There are no words for this one. Just watch and enjoy…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s